super whole super bowl

So last night was the Super Bowl. I cooked! I cooked regular party food, but with a paleo twist. Everything was made using whole ingredients, and everything tasted even better than standard party fare, if I do say so myself. (Cooking hot wing sauce in bacon grease may have added to this review.)

The recipes I used were rich, hearty, man-food that I probably wouldn’t cook every day but were perfect to accompany one of the biggest football games of the year (after every TN Vols game and the SEC championship, of course).

The menu:

  • Boneless buffalo wings
  • (Sweet) potato skins
  • Meatballs in sauce

The spread:

Image

Image

Yum!

The recipes:

Boneless Buffalo Wings

Ingredients:

  • 2 free range chicken breasts
  • 2 eggs
  • almond flour
  • paprika
  • garlic powder
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • dried thyme
  • 1 cup coconut oil
  • hot sauce of your choice (check the label for sciencey no-no ingredients!)
  • ghee or bacon grease (I opted for #2)

I used this recipe (http://paleocomfortfoods.com/in-the-kitchen/fried-chicken-worth-a-cover-shot/) to create my “breading.” Almond flour + spices = awesomeness. I mixed all the spices and flour in a medium-sized bowl.

I then whisked two eggs in a separate, small bowl.

I scooped 1 cup of coconut oil into a frying pan and let it melt and heat up.

I chopped up two free range chicken breasts into nugget-sized chunks (that has to be the most disgusting three-word combo yet on this blog).

One at a time, I took each piece of chicken and dunked it into the whisked eggs, then rolled it around in the almond flour + spices, then lightly placed it into the hot oil. I repeated until the frying pan was at max capacity. After each chicken piece seemed brown and crispy on one side, I flipped it using metal tongs. I probably fried each piece for 5-8 minutes on each side, depending on the size of the nugget.

After all my boneless wings were cooked thoroughly, I poured about 1/4 cup bacon grease into a separate frying pan. I mixed that with about 1 cup of hot sauce and sprinkled in the same spices I had used in the flour. I heated the sauce concoction enough to mix all the ingredients, then tossed the boneless wings into the sauce in the pan. (Other recipes prefer putting wings and sauce in a plastic bag, then shaking, but I worried the “breading” might start to flake off.)

I made sure each wing was properly covered, and there you go! Paleo wing perfection.

(Sweet) Potato Skins

Ingredients

  • 3 sweet potatoes
  • 1 12-oz package nitrate-free bacon
  • 2 avocados
  • 1 lemon
  • cumin
  • coconut oil
  • almond flour
  • salt and pepper

I followed this recipe (http://www.skinnyscoop.com/listitem/42699/112351/avocado-chorizo-sweet-potato-skins) but, as usual, made my own twist. My grocery store didn’t have chorizo, but they did have nitrate-free bacon (go figure!). So I cooked up the bacon instead of chorizo, then chopped the cooked bacon into very small crumbles. I also didn’t have a lime, so I just used a whole lemon. And I omitted the red onion because it somehow got left off my grocery list. Finally, my potatoes were pretty big, so they took about 45 minutes – 1 hour to bake (so plan accordingly).

The result? holygoodnessthebestthingeveriwanttomakethiseveryday.

Moroccan Meatballs

What would a paleo meal be without something from Well Fed? I followed this recipe (http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2009/03/05/mmmmm-moroccan-meatballs/) exactly. And it was AMAZING. Like, the tomato sauce alone is so good. I may make it just as a soup or sauce or something because I could not get enough of it! It took about an hour and a half total to make, but it was worth the wait. So so so delicious.

So, see? You can have eat like a caveman and still throw one of the best parties around! Paleo wins again!

One thought on “super whole super bowl

  1. Pingback: fifteen | paleobetes

Leave a Reply

