one glorious day without cooking

Some days, you just don’t feel like cooking. For me, that’s most days. Nevertheless, I’ve fought the calling to be the Queen of Takeout during the past 11 days (ELEVEN days? That’s it?) and buckled down in the kitchen. Frying pan in one hand, knife and cutting board in the other, I’ve battled my lazy urges and arisen, for the most part, victorious. Paleo for the win! Junk-free cooking all day every day.

Sometimes, however, laziness wins. Luckily, I’ve still managed to eat clean all day – even on a day without cooking. Whaaaaat? Tell me more, you say?

Tuesday was a fabulous example of lazy clean eating. For lunch, I threw together a one-bowl beauty. One (embarrasingly) giant bowl (I mean, like the biggest bowl I own) filled with spinach, salad greens, broccoli, walnuts, pecans, grape tomatoes, a bit of Wholly Guacamole, and an unreasonably large portion of Applegate Herb Turkey slices. I seasoned with salt, pepper, a dash of olive oil and way too much balsamic vinegar. And a star was born!

Image

Tuesday night I met a friend for dinner. As I kind gesture from my dear friend, I got to pick the restaurant. I chose Humdingers, a quick-casual local place known for fantastically-seasoned grilled fish and chicken. I knew I could find a paleo-friendly meal there. I just knew it! As suggested by my clean coach John, I checked the menu before I left to have a delectable paleo plan. Old Stephanie would have ordered the chicken tacos with a side salad (omg so delicious and they seem kinda healthyish and yum!) and topped it off with some of Humdingers’ special sauces (have I mentioned I love condiments?).

Instead, new, clean, whole food Stephanie ordered this:

humdingers

Doesn’t it look fabulous? Grilled tilapia with pineapple salsa, grilled zucchini, and grilled sweet potatoes. And no sauce or condiment or remoulade or any such thing (trust me, I checked the ingredient labels on the sauces. no bueno. and I was sad.) But do you see? All whole foods. No no-name pretend, processed, or scientific foods. Heaven!

The bottom line: Yes, you can be lazy and be paleo. If I lived closer to a Humdingers I’d probably order it like 3 times a week in order to avoid having to cook. But alas, my hip soul lives far from suburbia and thus my hip soul must keep her hip booty in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

