my soup is leeking!

As you know, I have survived three days of paleo. Well, 2 1/2 days if you want to be specific. And I am feeling fabulous. Instead of focusing on what I am not eating, let me share with you, inquisitive reader, a breakdown of delicious meals I have devoured.

Monday: Scrambled eggs, tomatoes, guacamole, a pear, two big plates of chicken fajita salad, strawberries and blackberries, coffee, iced tea.

Tuesday: Scrambled eggs, ham, raw carrots and broccoli with guacamole and salsa, more chicken fajitas, burger patties, baked green fries, lemonade, iced tea, espresso.

Wednesday: Scrambled eggs, fried turkey slices, baked asparagus, homemade apple chips with honey and cinnamon, side salad, tomato soup (I took this recipe and added lots of paprika, chili powder, and black pepper).

What I still plan to make this week: Moroccan meatballs, Crock-pot pork loin, beef stir fry, buffalo chicken, spaghetti squash with chicken sausage and marinara, and a whole lot of fun veggies and sides. Oh yes, and I am going to do something with bacon. Glorious bacon.

The adventure continues with every meal!

And when I say adventure, I mean challenge to make as many pots, plates, and square feet of kitchen as messy as possible in the shortest period of time. It’s an unfortunate game I play with myself. While making my tomato soup today, for example, I realized that I had no idea what do with the leeks in front of me or how to get it to look like the pretty shavings in the picture. I had never purchased a leek before, let alone cooked one, so I found this video very helpful:

Once I got my leeks all chopped, cleaned, and pretty, I progressed through the recipe. Then during the blending process, my 10-year old $20 blender decided to go to blender heaven. And when blenders go to heaven, they leak. Scores of leaky leek-and-tomato mush came a-flowing down the front of the blender. I salvaged most of my soup, but it turned out much less creamy and much more chunky than desired. And of course, my kitchen now looks like a scene from the Patriot, but thankfully today’s casualties are limited to one blender and lots of leeks and tomatoes.

No one said paleo would be easy, and no one ever said it would be pretty.

One thought on “my soup is leeking!

Leave a Reply

