turning lemons into . . .

Today I learned an unfortunate fact about lemons. Lemons do not put out a lot of juice. No wonder Chick-fil-a charges for refills on their delicious lemonade. I now have a new appreciation for anything “fresh squeezed.”

Exhibit A: One beautiful lemon half, just begging to be juiced.

Image

Exhibit B: One fabulous handheld juicer, ready for anything.

Image

Exhibit C: The plentiful juice from above-mentioned lemon half.

Image

Are you kidding me?

Maybe that was just the smaller half. Let’s see what one whole lemon will give me. Behold, Exhibit D:

Image

Am I just really bad at juicing lemons?

I decide to transfer my hard-earned lemon juice into a measuring cup. Maybe there’s more there than it looks.

Image

Nope.

Lemons, why I have lived nearly 3 decades believing you were this plump source of sour goodness? Mother nature dropped the ball on this one.

Bruised by my disappointing discovery but nevertheless determined, I juice on.

Exhibit E: The juice of two fresh-squeezed lemons.

Image

Almost 1/2 cup. ::sigh::

Why did I care about lemon juice anyway?

I like water, and I like tea, and I like coffee, but I am used to a much bigger variety of beverage options. I searched online, but couldn’t find exactly the recipe I had in mind, so I made like Marie Curie and experimented, searching for the perfect paleo lemonade. I’m sure the Nobel Prize will come shortly after this blog is discovered.

Hard-earned Honey-Water Lemonade

Ingredients:

  1. Honey
  2. Water
  3. (All together now!) Lemon juice (Fresh squeezed is preferred, but I understand why store-bought might be more realistic, and is still ok according to my coach/guru/superstar.)

I boiled 4 cups of tap water, then added 4 tbsp of local honey.

Image

I stirred the honey really well until there were no big gooey clumps and the water was a magical yellowy liquid:

Image

(And yes, these giant beer mugs fit 4 cups water + 4 tbsp honey perfectly.)

I then put the mug o’honey-water in the fridge to cool while I started the above-mentioned lemon-squeezing letdown. I soon became impatient with the temperature of the water (why are you still hot after 1.6 million minutes?!) so I poured half of my honey-water mixture into a new giant beer mug and filled it up with ice.

I then worked until I found an acceptable ratio: add 1/4 cup of lemon juice (roughly the juice of 1 lemon) to 1 cup of honey-water.

And bam! Now you have a fresh-squeezed paleo lemonade!

Image

Isn’t it pretty?

Betes Note: Honey has sugar. Honey has carbs. Honey is not generally considered “diabetes friendly.” The honey I used has 17g carbs per tbsp. In my past life (aka before yesterday) I rarely sweetened with anything “real” for fear that my blood sugar would be even crazier than normal.

But, now that my body (defunct pancreas and all) seems to love the paleo/whole food thing, I can afford to indulge in luxuries like honey. A little insulin, coupled with drinking it slowly, and it had nearly no effect on my blood sugar.

Image

That’s one happy Dexcom. Paleo for the win!

One thought on “turning lemons into . . .

  1. Stephanie, I am loving this blog! I’ve never tried juicing lemons, but from watching Food Network, I’ve seen them roll lemons around on the counter and even microwave them for about 15 seconds before cutting them open to get more juice out. I found this, just to check ma facts. 🙂 http://busycooks.about.com/od/quicktips/qt/lemons.htm. Can’t wait to read more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

