first meal.

I woke up today starving. I think my body (I’m looking at you, stomach!) was being overly dramatic. I hadn’t even started paleo; it was just hungry in anticipation of being hungry. Come on, body, you are already making this much harder than it is.

As last night I was too lazy to go to the store , I woke up and ran to the lovely corner grocery to pick up just enough food to satisfy my cranky stomach.

[I’m off today (sort of), so the Kroger/Whole Foods/Wiliams-Sonoma Outlet run is coming this afternoon – stay tuned, fair readers.]

Miss Cordelia’s didn’t have free range or pasture eggs. They had cage-free eggs, but I thought I remembered John saying that cage-free wasn’t good enough, so I decided to save myself $3 and bought the smallest pack of regular eggs (cheating already! Ah!) and a tomato.

When I came home, I did not pour myself a cold, bubbly glass of diet coke or diet dr. pepper, but I used my fancy new Nespresso machine to brew a cup of espresso.

20130121-120716.jpg

(Isn’t it cute? The Nespresso machine was a Christmas gift from my tia, and I am looking forward to using it to get through mornings of mourning the big hole Diet Coke has left in my heart.)

For the first time in my life, I did not add anything to my coffee. (Coconut milk and honey are acceptable paleo sweeteners, but I didn’t have those luxurious items in my pantry yet.) Because of this, I used my hard-earned college skills and downed it like a shot. Same caffeine buzz, no bitter taste.

I scrambled three eggs with a little olive oil, garlic, salt, and pepper. I kept the heat medium-low, per my cousin’s instructions (something about high heat making olive oil spontaneously combust inside of you or something far less gruesome but equally not good). I did not add butter or milk or cheese (as much as it hurt to do so). I plated my masterpiece with a chopped tomato and some Wholly Guacamole, and voila! breakfast was served. It was surprisingly delicious (but don’t tell anyone I said that).

20130121-120747.jpg

1 meal down, 89 to go.

2 thoughts on “first meal.

  1. I love it! Coconut milk is yummy and lasts forever! Andrew and I will cook a paleo meal for you while you’re on the diet. It will be a small taste for us, but we’d de glad to do it!

Leave a Reply

